Spirituality and Swearing

I swear like a sailor, and I make no apologies for it. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t intentionally set out to offend anyone with my foul mouth, but I also don’t hide who I am, either. I’ve never felt or heard any sort of censure from any of the beings of light that I work with in regards to cursing. Most of my clients don’t seem to mind if I slip “fuck” into a reading, but I know there are many people out there who can’t reconcile being a spiritual person and having a potty mouth at the same time.

If you were to do a basic internet search for something like “spiritual swearing” you’d find several arguments for both sides. Today, I decided to ask my soul support (my higher self, my angels, my guides, etc.) what the “right” answer is, and here is what they told me:

  1. Always remember that words have power.

Okay, fair enough. Words have the ability to build someone up, tear someone down, inspire, degrade, and otherwise bear the weight of the energy we project. That being said…

2. Swearing releases kundalini energy.

Ahh, now THIS is interesting. If you’re not familiar with kundalini energy, here’s a basic overview. Kundalini energy typically sits dormant in the root chakra until it is released in one way or another: yoga, meditation, orgasm, and physical or emotional trauma (since it sits in the root chakra, which is connected to our survival instincts) to name a few. It is a primal energy. Kundalini energy is also associated with the serpent as an ancient representation of personal power. (Kundalini is the Sanskrit word for snake.)

So, the fact that swearing releases kundalini energy is important for several reasons.

Stagnant kundalini energy….

  • can manifest as flu-like symptoms or general illness/unease
  • can manifest as numbness or restlessness in the legs
  • can increase worry or feelings of insecurity in regards to job, finances,  and life path
  • can manifest in the desire to be antisocial and a sense of disconnect from family/friends

…And many others. Releasing kundalini energy helps us to feel more secure in us, in our personal power, and our role in society (both personal and public.)

It seems the point my soul support is making here is to remember that there’s a difference between exclaiming a frustrated “fuck” or “shit” (or something more creative!) and directing words dripping with hateful energy toward another living thing. So, you can still be a spiritual teacher/speaker/healer/leader/etc. and curse up a storm. And I plan to do just that.

Motherfucker!

Leave a Reply

